Mobile Photography Tips

“Mobile Photography Tips” is the blog run by Alex Markovich.

E-mail: MarkovichUniverse AT gmail DOT com

Alex Markovich is a 39 y.o. male living in Russia. A photographer, writer and lecturer, as well as translator. A regular guest on “Radio of Russia” and other radio stations. Main subjects of the programs: “Traveling through Russia” and “Photo Art” (Alex arranges photo exhibitions in various Russian towns and cities, as well as abroad).

Alex’s favorite genre is sci-fi (lots of his stories are translated into various languages and published in dozens of online and offline publications).

Alex has developed his own course, namely: “The methodology involved for an artist, photographer or writer to present their material effectively, so as to develop a following and become popular”. Alex conducts lectures on this subject throughout Russia.

It is so obvious that our smartphones have become, first and foremost, instruments for taking pictures and surfing the net, rather than tools for making calls. As a photographer who has been playing with the camera since kindergarten, I can say that I have switched from DSLR camera photography to mobile photography. If it’s a professional photo shoot I give the advantage to a decent DSLR camera, but as for daily walks, trips, concerts, reportage photography or even theater performances I use my camera phone.

There are several reasons for that.

First, the camera phone is always with you. It helps you to capture the moment you enjoy. (I also carry a portable charger with me).

Second, the camera phone is compact and small. Quality of the camera of modern smartphones is more than enough to take a decent photo of sunlight on the surface, a leaf in the snow or even do a quick mobile photo shoot.

Third, you can immediately share your photos via your social networks.

Fourth, there are dozens of decent mobile applications which you can use to process your images. I personally like vintage and monochrome filters. After taking a photo you can immediately process it and upload it to Instagram or to your favorite social network.

I used to utilize various DSLR cameras as well as camera phones. For the past three years or so I had taken thousands of pictures with NOKIA LUMIA 1020 and SAMSUNG GALAXY S4 ZOOM. With the latest one (I bought it in August 2014) I have been taking videos of various concerts or theater performances to which I am invited.

Collage_Fotor_Fotor

***

Collage_Fotor1_Fotor

Below is the picture taken in May 2013. In the picture is a good friend of mine – Tatiana, she is a professional artist.

11418964404_e63a4eb572_o_Fotor

That was a regular walk which led us to this beautiful meadow. Tatiana took dozens of images of this beautiful spot. I did too.

Here is an abstract from the interview I gave in December 2015 to the Indian journalist Dimple Meera Jom who is pursuing postgraduation in Great Britain.

Dimple Meera Jom: Nowadays, anyone with a mobile phone can capture everything around them. Possession of a smartphone makes one a passionate photographer, the art of photography is diminishing. What is your opinion about this comment!

Alex Markovich: I always viewed art as something auxiliary rather than independent. The purpose of the artists who painted portraits of kings and queens was to “capture” them. Nowadays every schoolgirl can take dozens of selfies. The purpose is the same. Of course, one might say that the paintings of the royal families are masterpieces. Maybe. For me, they are just boring pictures with sour faces. But some techniques are great.

Let’s switch to smartphones. I love the saying that “the best camera is the one you have with you at the moment”. If you want to market yourself, it depends on what pictures you take with your smartphone. If you do a travel blog, the quality of your smartphone is more than enough. I’ve got two camera phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Zoom and Nokia Lumia 1020. Both have immediate Internet access. But if you want your photos to be printed on canvas or in top magazines, you should have a decent DSLR camera.

Photography for me personally is capturing the moment I enjoyed. That’s it. The only exception is when I do serious reportage photography. Smartphones helped me many times.

One more thing. It depends on what you take pictures of. Everyone can take a photo of an icicle but not so many flew on hot-air balloons, helicopters, and the like; so the one who had a chance to fly in a hot air balloon can boast with his/her unique photos. And if he did that in every season he has a cool portfolio.

A photo of an icicle taken with Hasselblad camera can be very cool, but dozens of photos from the bird’s eye view taken with a camera phone will attract thousands of people. So the point is not about the camera but more important, the places where a photographer has access to.

10 thoughts on “Mobile Photography Tips

  1. I once had this “OMG look at this butterfly” *hurriedly taking a shot before it flies off again moment — and it turned out to be one of my best shots ever [now hanging as canvas print on several walls] I took it with my old SAMSUNG Galaxy 1 and I just pushed the button while being on a trip through Brasil. From that day on I was convinced its about the person holding the camera, not (entirely) about expensive gadgets. (https://www.etsy.com/de/listing/398366079/schmetterling-88-zebraschmetterling?ref=shop_home_feat_1 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree, the best camera is the one you have with you and smart phones are smart and fast. I was taking a picture of a primrose this afternoon and a butterfly landed and I got them both. I don’t think it will be famous like unminatori’s but it captured spring for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with everything you say here. My love for photography intensified after I started using a BlackBerry mobile phone. It gives you very clear images which are already compressed and quite web friendly…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for stopping by and liking my latest post Alex! Currently, I photograph all my artwork with my iPhone because – as you point out – it makes it so much easier to upload and share. I’m looking forward to reading more mobile photography tips from you in future!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “Nowadays, anyone with a mobile phone can capture everything around them. Possession of a smartphone makes one a passionate photographer, the art of photography is diminishing.” Very true, thank you for this useful information.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for your gesture of support today. Your project seems like the kind that may yield surprises and take you in unexpected and welcome directions – I hope it proves so! Best regards, EA

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Greetings from New England–Just saying “thank you” for visiting my blog. Yes, I do like my “smart phone” and its built-in camera, though I’m still old school with a preference for carrying and using a camera that involves me more in the process of taking a photo…still, my “best” camera is always the one I have on me; it just so happens it can make calls, take videos, navigate and so forth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

